Daily Archives: April 25, 2011

Korean BBQ lunch at Sam Won Garden

The Southern equivalent of Maginhawa St. in Teachers Village, Quezon City would probably be Aguirre Ave. in B.F. Homes Parañaque.

In a gist, Teachers Village in Quezon City is one of the three major residential areas in the Diliman district.  Maginhawa St. is a major road that cuts through Teachers Village, Sikatuna, and U.P. Village.  For some reason, maintaining these three subdivisions as strictly residential areas was never strictly implemented.  This resulted in a mixed-use subdivision, primarily residential interspersed with all kinds of commercial establishments.  (You name it: printing shops, restaurants, laundry, hardware stores, a grocery, factory outlets, low-rise office buildings, etc.)  I have heard someone sarcastically remark that one can find the entire universe in here.  Maginhawa St. has always been a notable place in Diliman because of its restaurants and bars.

The same applies for Aguirre Ave. in B.F. Homes, Parañaque.  B.F. Homes was intended to be a purely residential area.  Over time, through lax implementation I suppose, it evolved into a mixed-use subdivision very much like Teachers Village.

ANYWAY… One of the Korean restaurants that I have read about in food blogs like The Sugar Bug, and Southbound.ph, and ClicktheCity was Sam Won Garden.   (The family was looking for a new Asian restaurant for Easter lunch other than our usual Chinese and Japanese fare.)

**Disclaimer: This probably should not count as a real restaurant review, in my opinion.  I usually research on how to “attack” exotic cuisines before I try out such restaurants.  If the restaurant serves authentic cuisine and is owned  by someone of that nationality, I try to find out if there are any meal-related customs/rituals that have to be performed.  Manners…  I also look up the most popular dishes and the recommended combinations.  I have tried Korean restaurants a few times–those instances I can count on one hand–and I still have not mastered which entrees should be eaten with the proper condiments.

In addition, I was only armed that day with my celphone camera.

Continue reading